RSS

The Martian – Andy Weir

24 Nov

martian

Synopsis:

Mark Watney is abandoned by his crew on Mars when a huge storm comes through. As the crew is leaving, he is impaled by a metal rod and tossed to the ground. His crew assumes he has been carried away in the storm and they take off.

After they are gone Mark realizes he has to try and figure out how to survive on an uninhabited planet for four years, until the next shuttle mission comes to him. Being a botanist and a mechanical engineer, he is able to rig some things so they will work for him and prolong his life for just a while longer.

Review:

Okay, this book did have some great one liners. However, this book was one of the most boring books I have ever read.

Sorry, I know that is not popular opinion but I had no interest in the main characters struggle, mainly because it was so watered down with terminology and mathematics that I started hearing “Blah, blah, blah” running through my head.

I thought I would be a fan of the journalesque style of this book but I find it was one more thing that put me off to the book. I knew it was written that way, but I was not prepared for there to be nothing but journaling throughout the entire novel. It never picks up. It doesn’t get better.

I hate to say this but I have a feeling the movie will be quite hilarious, and maybe the book was put out just to see if someone would pick it up for a movie…

Favorite Quotes:

“Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped.”
Andy Weir, The Martian

“Also, I have duct tape. Ordinary duct tape, like you buy at a hardware store. Turns out even NASA can’t improve on duct tape.”
Andy Weir, The Martian

“Actually, I was the very lowest ranked member of the crew. I would only be “in command” if I were the only remaining person.”
What do you know? I’m in command”
Andy Weir, The Martian

“If ruining the only religious icon I have leaves me vulnerable to Martian vampires, I’ll have to risk it.”
Andy Weir, The Martian

“They say once you grow crops somewhere, you have officially ‘colonized’ it. So technically, I colonized Mars.
In your face, Neil Armstrong!”
Andy Weir, The Martian

Recommendations:

(Just gonna go with a few sci-fi recommendations, since I am quite certain I have never read anything quite like this.)

Quicksilver (The Baroque Cycle, #1)  by Neal Stephenson

Ilium (Ilium, #1)  by Dan Simmons

Nirvana (Nirvana #1)  by J.R. Stewart

Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)  by Pierce Brown

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2015 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
