RSS

The Shards of Heaven – Michael Livingston

21 Nov

shards

Synopsis:

With Julius Caesar assassinated on the senate floor, Rome is divided. Octavian, Caesar’s ambitious great-nephew and adopted son, decides to take on the great Marc-Antony and Cleopatra and a battle ensues to win the heart of Rome.

Juba, another of Caesar’s adopted sons, has decided to go after the Shards of Heaven, lost treasures that house the powers of the Roman gods, or in this case God himself. He already possesses what he believes to be the Trident, or in his mind, the staff of Moses. Now he will stop at nothing to obtain the other Shards, no matter the consequence.

Review:

I loved the rich history brought forth in this novel. Cleopatra is one of my favorite historical figures and I was thrilled when I received a NetGalley ARC.

The descriptions and battle scenes in this novel were quite epic. I absolutely loved the character building throughout the novel. The only thing that fell short for me was the dialogue. There were moments when conversations halted the story for me. I would set it aside and move on to something else. This made me feel like the book took way to long to read. But, I am a stickler for good dialogue. This was not enough of a deterrent to make me give a bad rating, in fact I would easily give it 3.5 stars out of 5.

(No quotes due to the fact that my copy was an ARC from NetGalley)

Recommendations:

Mystic (Mystic, #1)  by Jason Denzel

The Iron Lance (The Celtic Crusades, #1)  by Stephen R. Lawhead

The Burning Times  by Jeanne Kalogridis

Out of the Silent Planet (Space Trilogy, #1)  by C.S. Lewis

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2015 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
