RSS

A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness

20 Jul

image

Synopsis:

Diana Bishop, of the Salem Bishops, is a scholar of Alchemy. Her research has taken her to Oxford to the Bodleian Library. While studying manuscripts for a key note address, she stumbles upon an enchanted manuscript and breaks the spell keeping the book from prying supernatural eyes. However, Diana has turned her back on magic, so she quickly dismisses the manuscript and returns to her work. She has no idea that breaking the spell cast on the book will now invite all manner of supernatural beings into her life. Mainly one very powerful vampire.

Review:

Where do I start… How about by saying I started this book not knowing it was a romance. I knew there was a romance in the novel but not that it was going to take over the actual plot of the story. 

Second, I was really enjoying the writing and the direction of the story until I started thinking, “I think I’ve read this before.” Well, turns out I have. This author named Stephenie Meyer wrote the same novel. This was literally Twilight for adults. For this reason alone I stopped reading this book. I liked Twilight but I don’t want to read it again.

Third, there are so many “borrowed” ideas in this story that I don’t know what to think about it. People say it reminds them of Anne Rice but that is probably because the lead character is much like Jessie from The Queen of the Damned. There are others but I don’t feel like picking this book apart.

The only reason I gave this book three stars is that the writing itself is quite good. Easy flow, great description,atmospheric. I just wish I hadn’t made the connections to the other works…

Favorite Quotes:

“Sorry, we’ve got ghosts.” 
― Deborah Harkness, A Discovery of Witches

“Are you smelling me?” After yesterday I suspected that my body was giving him all kinds of information I didn’t want him to have.

“Don’t tempt me,” he murmured.” 
― Deborah Harkness, A Discovery of Witches

“The most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious. It is the fundamental emotion that stands at the cradle of true art and true science. Whoever does not know it and can no longer wonder, is as good as dead, and his eyes are dimmed (Albert Einstein)” 
― Deborah Harkness, A Discovery of Witches

“And happiness is always louder than sadness.” 
― Deborah Harkness, A Discovery of Witches

Recommendations:

Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
The Vampire Chronicles – Anne Rice
Goddess of the Sea – P. C. Cast
Dark Witch – Nora Roberts

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
